My worst nightmare: the murderous dolls.

The other day I was wandering around myself and I suddenly remembered a petrifying dream I had as a six-ish year old. At least, it was petrifying to the six year old version of me. Me now? I’m tough as nails…no dream can phase me! *Lies*

Here is how the nightmare unfolded…

The dream started with me on my parents exercise bike that was planted next to the wall in the dinning area. I knew it was night time because the drapes were drawn and the lights were on. If I looked to my left, I could see our open plan kitchen and just to the left of the kitchen, was our hallway which led to our bedrooms.

My Dad was working on a new project, he was making life size dolls (the kind where the main bodice was soft, white and full of stuffing; while the head, arms and legs were meant to simulate human features and were really hard to the touch). “My Dad made dolls?” I remember thinking. Now, if you know my Dad, he’s not a crafty fellow. But I didn’t spend too much time dwelling on this point, I just went with it.

There were two adult, human sized dolls thrown in a heap on the floor next to the kitchen. They were both male and extremely bald. One was taller and slightly lanky, while the other was short and stocky. Both dolls had a look of malevolence, black angry eyebrows and looked aged—the characteristic frown lines and wrinkling around the eyes. What creeped me out the most were their vacant, unblinking eyes.

I continued riding. Well,  actually a better description is failing, considering I was too small to be able to reach both the pedals and the handle bars while seated. Now, I can’t remember where my Mum was in this, but I do know she was in the room.

Next, I saw movement out of the corner of my left eye and saw both dolls on their feet, they waddled from side to side, kinda like a baby learning to walk, or a penguin. My Dad tried to neutralise them with a kitchen knife, but since they weren’t organic creatures, a knife was useless. My six year old brain didn’t know what murder looked like, but I knew that’s what they were going to do…but I do remember they took out both my parents and proceeded to walk out our front door. I followed them into the streets and already, all my neighbours homes were on fire.

This is where the dream goes off in a tangent. An animated Hercules appeared, yes a two-dimensional being appeared right in the middle of a three-dimensional world. I  followed him around and I saw everything in chaos and burning in fire. This dream had no end, but I woke up in my bed and covered myself completely in the bed sheets, leaving a breathing hole so I didn’t suffocate.

The memory of this dream is pretty fragmented, but it was terrifying enough to survive this long as a memory…

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim says:

    HAHA I was starting to get scared then Hercules came… Great timing! 😂 loved your story, dear! Keep on writing 😘

    Like

    1. Isn’t he the best! And thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

