You can’t die in dreams? Sure you can!

We’ve all heard it, ‘you can’t die in your dreams! Your brain can’t cope, and it will wake you up just before you die’. Or the ‘if you die in your dream, you die in real life’.

Well, I’ve definitely died in my dreams, more than once, I didn’t wake up and the dream just continued along its storyline.

I’m a pretty big fan of all things zombies and I love playing zombie video games. This dream occurred when I was going through my zombie fanatic video game playing period.

As with all dreams, there was no true start. It was a sunny day and I was surrounded by green scenery which, despite the zombies, was a very pleasant and calm environment. I hadn’t seen any zombies at this point, but dream me innately knew I was a badass—-real me would have probably been eaten right at the start of the zombie outbreak.

Anyway, I was escaping a horde of zombies and I ran over a small, arched, wooden bridge.  On the other side of this bridge was a cute wooden cottage, it  had a big tree and a tyre swing. The next thing I knew, a man with a shotgun appeared and obliterated me! *Bang*, dream me = dead.

I did not wake up. Instead, dream me re-spawned about a 5 minute run from the cottage. I was pretty ticked off that this man shot me, and I just knew he mistook me for a zombie. As I was running towards the cottage to get revenge, my mind was ranting about what an idiot he was and how does one mistake a living human, for a zombie. Especially since these zombies in this dream were slow, and I was running!

When I got to the cottage, he was gone…

The rest of the dream was pretty fragmented and I don’t remember much. The fragmented dream memories include fighting zombies *like a badass*, barricading myself and faceless strangers using shopping trolleys and generally just escaping when the above two failed.

So yes you can die in dreams without waking up, or dying in real life. Unless…I did in fact die in that dream and this is now the afterlife…

One Comment Add yours

  1. This post opens up a window into two other great discussion topics. One, is an individual’s perspective on death, and two, is an individual’s perspective on dreaming.

    So, the answer to the question, “Can you die in dreams?”, would all depend on what a person thinks of dying and dreaming.

    I can only assume that if you see death as the end, then you probably will wake up if you die in your sleep. Your mind will not be able to process anything after death in a dream because it will not allow itself to believe in anything after death. On the other hand, if you believe in some sort of story after death, then I’m sure your mind will continue to produce dream adventures after dying.

    What is dreaming then? Is it a way for your mind to keep itself occupied while your body regenerates and rests, or is it a portal for your mind to connect to higher levels of reality. If you believe in the former, then your dreams will most likely consist of recreations of your daily information inputs, fears, and desires all mixed up in a bowl. However, if you believe in the latter, your dreams provide you a nightly opportunity to be released from this “reality” into the greater “reality” where anything is possible.

    Some even say that dreaming is like dying every night, which allows you to leave this body and travel to unimaginable places. I don’t really think it matters which theory a person believes in. I do however, feel that dreams have the powerful potential to carry messages that we often refuse to listen to in a wakeful state.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

